I’m Participating in Camp NaNoWriMo

Tomorrow is July 1st, which means it is also the first day of Camp NaNoWriMo.

I made the decision to participate this year about half-way through June, and still don’t have much of a plan.  But, that is ok!

What’s Camp NaNoWriMo?

If you have never heard of it, Camp NaNoWriMo is the summer version of National Novel Writing Month, which happens every November.

NaNoWriMo is an annual event where people come together and try to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. The camp version is the same essential idea, but just a little bit different.

Camp NaNoWriMo happens twice a year in April, the month formerly known as Script Frenzy, and July, the round I’ll be participating in.

The Difference Between Camp and the Original

The difference between July and November is in July the goal doesn’t have to be 50,000 words, and you don’t have to start a completely new idea.

Camp NaNoWriMo is a much more chill version of the original, after all, we’re on summer vacation. Your goal for the month can be anything! You can choose between words, hours, minutes, lines, or pages, and you can set the number to anything you want.

One other major difference is, during Camp NaNoWriMo you have the option to be in a virtual cabin with other writers so you can share your progress.

My Plan for Camp NaNoWriMo

I am aiming to write 30 hours over the month, which boils down to 1 hour a day.

When you break it down it doesn’t seem like that much.  This is because I am trying to get back into writing fiction again. I haven’t written much of anything, besides these blog posts, in a long time.

I have found that I tend to get too focused on what the goal is. This might seem like a good thing, but instead of having a goal and trying to achieve it I will cut corners just to say I did it.

This time I’ll be writing by hours instead of keeping track of how many words I’m writing.  This means I can completely ignore the word count, which I often pay too much attention to.  I will be able to pay more attention to what I’m writing and actually make some progress.

Planner or Pantser?

I will be pantsing this year.

If you are unfamiliar these two terms probably sound a little strange.  They are actually pretty straight forward.

Being a planner means exactly that. You have a clear plan for what you will be writing over the month. This usually includes characters, a plot outline, the setting, etc. already laid out before you start writing.

If you are a pantser it means you have no outline. Your idea can be very vague or you have no idea at all and just start writing.

I have a very vague idea of what I want the story to be and an idea for my main character.  That’s about it.

Let’s Get Writing

I’m really just trying to get out of my own head this time around. The best way to do this is to just write without thinking too much about it.

I’m hoping that I will be able to build the habit to write every day again.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll have something at the end of July.

What do you think about Camp NaNoWriMo? Are you a writer thinking about participating?

Let me know down below!

2 thoughts on “I’m Participating in Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I like the hour goal option. I’m aiming for 30k, but do have a side goal of 2 hours as I want to get into the habit of writing every day.

    What genre is your vague idea? I haven’t plotted much either, just names and a badly drawn map and my own vague idea of what story I want to tell.

    Good luck with your goal!

    1. The option to have hours is such a good idea, I’m really glad they added it. I generally tend to write fantasy, so it’s probably going to be along those lines.
      Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

